Triënnale Kortrijk 2024

From Saturday, June 29 to October 6, 2024, Kortrijk will be dominated by contemporary art with the third edition of Triënnale Kortrijk.

Curators Patrick Ronse and Hilde Teerlinck invited 23 national and international artists to install contemporary art installations at 15 different indoor and outdoor locations in the city center. The itinerary, with works by René Heyvaert, Kasper Bosmans, Felix Gonzalez-Torres, Laia Estruch, Roni Horn, Jan Van Imschoot and Shirley Villavicencio Pizango, among others, encourages dialogue, reflection and action.

Kortrijk's rich history provides a guide within the trail through the integration of unique historic sites, such as the historic Town Hall, the Broeltoren, the Baggaertshof and the Chapel of the Discalced Carmelite Nuns. The course also meanders past new city parks and streets that have undergone a major transformation in recent years, and also involves the train station.

This third edition of Triennial Kortrijk, like 'Play' in 2018 and 'Paradise' in 2021, also focuses on a wide audience through impressive and interactive installations and unexpected interventions in the public space. For example, Laia Estruch's monumental tube construction on the Grote Markt will undoubtedly be a crowd puller.


After Paradise

The theme of the third Triennial is "After Paradise" : "What after 'paradise'? In contrast to the harmony and rich abundance found in Paradise, After Paradise confronts us with resource shortages, social tensions and a highly polluted environment. Although this sounds predominantly negative, After Paradise aims rather to tell a positive story. Taking responsibility and empowerment are central to this. This is reflected in the artistic interpretation, with a focus on works that challenge dialogue, reflection and action.

Participating artists

  • Felix Beaudry
  • Charif Benhelima
  • Jordi Bernadó
  • Kasper Bosmans
  • Nathan Coley
  • Nico Dockx, VOET architectuur and Studio Zuidervaart
  • Laia Estruch
  • Felix Gonzalez-Torres
  • René Heyvaert
  • Roni Horn
  • Joiri Minaya
  • Małgorzata Mirga-Tas
  • Vladimir Nikolić
  • Erkan Özgen
  • Oksana Pasaiko
  • Rachel Valdés
  • Abraham van Diepenbeeck
  • Jan Van Imschoot
  • Shirley Villavicencio Pizango
  • Pei-Hsuan Wang
  • Lee Wen
  • Sarah Westphal
  • Motoi Yamamoto

The 15 locations

  1. Station Kortrijk — Stationsplein 8
  2. Baggaertshof — Sint-Jansstraat 37
  3. Academie Kortrijk / Dash — Houtmarkt 5
  4. Begijnhofpark — Begijnhofpark
  5. Kapel van de Ongeschoeide Karmelietessen — Grote Kring 4
  6. Wit.h — Jozef Vandaleplein 3
  7. Grote Markt — Grote Markt
  8. Historisch Stadhuis — Grote Markt 54
  9. Broeltoren Noord — Broelkaai
  10. Broelkaai 6 — Broelkaai 6
  11. Kasteelkaai — Kasteelkaai
  12. Paardenstallen — Korte Kapucijnenstraat
  13. Texture Museum — Noordstraat 28
  14. Casinotuin — Casinoplein
  15. rhizome_ — Koning Albertstraat 2